Wednesday, June 6, 2012

सरावगी जैन समुदाय या खंडेलवाल जैन - SARAVAGI JAIN OR KHANDELWAL JAIN

The Sarawagi or Saraogi Jain community, meaning a Jain Śrāvaka, is also known as the Khandelwali. They originated from Khandela, a historical town in northern Rajasthan.

The Sarawagi community owes its name to a strong historical association with Jainism. Also technically the term Sarawagi or shravaka is applicable to all Jains, the Khandelwal Jains is the only community that has used it extensively, although the term is sometimes also used by Jain Agrawals in Rajasthan.

The Khandelwals have 84 divisions. The legendary origin of these divisions is given in a 17th century book, "Shravakotpatti Varnanam". It mentions how a the ruler Girakhandel of Khandela was planning to sacrifice one thousand Jain monks in a naramedha yajña. However, with the assistance of goddess Chakreshvari, muni Jinasena persuaded the ruler to give up violence. The ruler along with his 83 chiefs became Jain Śrāvakas, giving rise to 84 gotra.

The Khandelwal Digambar Jain Mahasabha was founded by Lunkaran Pandya of Jhalarapatan and Padam Chand Benara of Agra (both then living in Bombay) on Feb. 28, 1916 in Bombay. The first convention of the Mahasabha was held in 1920, where the publication of "Khandelwal jain Hitechchhu" was initiated. Several regional branches of the Mahasabha were established, however they all became inactive around 1932.


The Mahasabha has been revived recently, its current office is in Lucknow.

It has recently several published directories. So far the community count has been done for 1794 towns with 29,944 families and 185,556 individuals. This does not include the city of Jaipur, which is the largest center.

Prominent Khandelwal Jains

संवत १५४८ वर्षे वैशाख सुदी ३ श्री मूलसंघे श्री जिनचन्द्रदेव साह जीवराज पपडीवाल नित्यं प्रणमंति सहर मुडासा राजा स्योसिंघ

Tejsi Udaikaran Ji (Udaibabaji) of Newta, a village in Jaipur did pratistha of Samyakgyan Shakti Yantra in Panchkalyanak Prathistha in Girnar Ji, and installed it in Temple Mandirji Patodiyan in Jaipur in year 1709.

Jivaraj Papriwal (who installed 100,000 pratimas during 1480-91)

Pandit Todarmal (1719–1766), author of Moksh Marg Prakashak

Poet Bhudhardas (Samvat 1750-1806)

Poet Budhjan, sam. 1820-1895.

Sir Seth Bhagchand Soni of Ajmer

eth Jambukumarji Baj from KOTA , an industrialist,Social activist,and a Freedom Fighter.

Late Seth Hiralalji Badjatya (Jeweller)

Late Sir Seth Hukamchand Kasliwal of Indore, Pioneering Indian industrialist

Late Munsi Payara Lal Kasliwal, Counsel Member-Finance of Jaipur of Jaipur State, Founder President of Shree Mahaveer ji and continuued for more than 20 years

Col.(Dr.) Rajmal Kasliwal, Freedom Fighteer, Ex-Principal SMS Medical College,Jaipur

Tarachand Barjatya founder of Rajshri Productions

Mr Manak Chand Paliwal,a Freedom Fighter,Industrialist and Social activist who migrated from Pali[Marwar] to Kota and contributed a lot in development of new Kota by relocating Mandi at New Grain Mandi.

Agarwal Sarawagis

The term Sarawagi is also used by are Agarwal Sarawagis from Churu as well as other districts of Rajasthan. They are a section of Agrawal Jain community.

1 comment:

  1. Gahoi Vaish community of bundelkhand also has a title named as "Saravagi".
    And they are strict Hindu vaishnav community.


हमारा वैश्य समाज के पाठक और टिप्पणीकार के रुप में आपका स्वागत है! आपके सुझावों से हमें प्रोत्साहन मिलता है कृपया ध्यान रखें: अपनी राय देते समय किसी प्रकार के अभद्र शब्द, भाषा का प्रयॊग न करें।