Monday, December 5, 2011

अग्रहरी वैश्य समाज

Agrahari is a Hindu caste and trading community found in North India. They are also known as Baniya, Vaish or Gupta.

The Agrahari belong to Kashyap/Kuchchal Gotra in the Vaish communityHistory and origin

People who belong to the Vaish community mostly live in the suburbs from the northern to the western part of India, including some of the population who live in the suburbs in eastern India.

The Agrahari claim to be a descendant of Emperor Agrasen of Agroha, who is credited with the establishment of a kingdom of traders in Agroha, North India.

Agrasen (Maharaja Agrasen, Emperor Agrasen) was the ancient Indian king of Agroha, a city of traders.

Today Agroha is a very important place in Haryana, Hissar district in India. The Agrahari community are part of the Agrawal community.


Some of the trade families migrated from Agroha to more eastern part of Uttar Pradesh (state in India). They migrated to places like Dist. Fatehpur, Rae-barelli, Pratapgarh, Sultanpur, Kaushambi, Allahabad, Mirjapur, Varanasi, Ghazipur, jaunpur,Gorakhpur, Basti,Sant kabir Nagar, Faizabad,Siddharth Nagar etc.. (all cities of Uttar Pradesh) and from here to further east towards Kolkata and now they form quite a population all over India. Some sikh Ahrahari families are also found in Bihar, Jharkhand and Calcutta. There are about 5 million Agraharis' all around India, Nepal and Burma. Agraharis have an All India Executive Body, elections of which are held every 2 years. It publishes a community monthly magazine called as "Agrahari Samaj Masik". Another monthly magazine is "Sanskar Samuchchay". President of the All India Agrahari community is Shri Ramesh Chandra Agrahari who is one of the leading industrialist. 

List of Agrahari people


Lavkush Agrahari (National President of BHARATIYA AGRAHARI YUVA SANGATHAN)Navi Mumbai Railway Pravasi Welfare Association)

Umashankar Gupta (Home Minister of Madhya Pradesh)

Amrita Agrahari (Nepal Sadbhawana Party)

Shyama Charan Gupta (Member of Parliament and Mayor)

Radhe Shyam Gupta (MLA and former Cabinet Minister of Uttar Pradesh)

Independence Activists

Late Shri Hari Sao Agrahari (Raigarh)


Pannalal Agrahari Crporation Of India (PACI Group)
Shyama Charan Gupta (Shyam Group)


Lavkush P Agrahari
Vidup Agrahari (Singer)
Birendra Agrahari
Dinesh Agrahari Deewana

No comments:

Post a Comment

हमारा वैश्य समाज के पाठक और टिप्पणीकार के रुप में आपका स्वागत है! आपके सुझावों से हमें प्रोत्साहन मिलता है कृपया ध्यान रखें: अपनी राय देते समय किसी प्रकार के अभद्र शब्द, भाषा का प्रयॊग न करें।